Princeton Tigers men's lacrosse

The Princeton Tigers men's lacrosse team represents Princeton University in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I men's lacrosse. Princeton currently competes as a member of the Ivy League and plays its home games at the Class of 1952 Stadium in Princeton, New Jersey.

Prior to the NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship tournament, Princeton was voted as national champion six times, in 1884, 1885, 1937, 1942, 1951, and 1953. Princeton also went undefeated in Ivy League play from 1957 to 1963 (Ivy League lacrosse began in 1956), and tied with Harvard in 1960 in an otherwise perfect season. Between 1957 and 1965, the team won nine consecutive Ivy League titles. The team has since won ten consecutive Ivy League titles from 1995 through 2004. Between 1990 and 2003, Princeton appeared in 14 consecutive NCAA tournaments.

Since 1990, Princeton has won six NCAA national championships and has qualified for 19 of the 21 Division I NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship tournaments. All six championships were won under former head coach Bill Tierney, who coached the team from 1988 to 2009. Tierney also led the Princeton program to two second place finishes. In 2010, Chris Bates took over as head coach of the Princeton program. In 2010, Princeton won the inaugural Ivy League Lacrosse Tournament.


Princeton Tigers men's lacrosse

Princeton has been voted national champion six times (1884, 1885, 1937, 1942, 1951 and 1953). Some sources regard 1937 as the first national championship. Men's lacrosse has been contested in the Ivy League since 1956, initially with only six teams. Brown University began competing in the league in 1964 and Columbia University has never competed in the league. Between 1957 and 1965, Princeton won nine consecutive Ivy League championships. It had undefeated 5â€"0 conference records every year from 1957 to 1963 except 1960 when it had a tie with Harvard. Between 1967 and 1992 Princeton won no Ivy League championships, while Cornell was the dominant conference power. Until the 1990s, Princeton played at Finney Field. Princeton won seven more Ivy League championships in the 1990s including perfect 6â€"0 records in 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998 and 1999. 1997 is regarded as the best in school history with a record number of wins during its 15â€"0 season and 10 All-Americans plus 13 All-Ivy League selections. Including the 2010 season, Princeton has earned 25 Ivy League championships, the only Ivy League tournament championship to date, 19 NCAA Division I Championship appearances, and 6 NCAA championships. Their main Ivy League rivalry is with Cornell.

Princeton has had a Top VIII Award winner and two Lt. Raymond Enners Awards for national player of the year. The school has seven Ivy League Players of the Year and nine Ivy League Rookies of the Year. The team has also had numerous national position awardees: five Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Awards (goaltenders), three Jack Turnbull Awards (attackman), two McLaughlin Awards (midfielder), and six Schmeisser Awards (defenseman). Two Princeton head coaches have won the F. Morris Touchstone Award. Princeton's first first team All-American in 1922.


Princeton Tigers men's lacrosse

From 1936 through 1970, the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) awarded the Wingate Memorial Trophy to the annual champion, based on regular-season records. In 1971, the NCAA began hosting an annual men's tournament to determine the national champion. The Wingate Memorial Trophy was presented to the first two NCAA Division I champions (1971 and 1972) and was then retired.

NCAA Tournament History

Princeton Tigers men's lacrosse

The following is the complete history of the Princeton Tigers men's lacrosse in the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship.


The following players have been recognized with conference or national honors and awards for their play:

National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

National Lacrosse Hall of Fame inductees:

Statistical accomplishments

Kevin Lowe holds the school career scoring record with 247 points (1991â€"94), while Jonathan Hess holds the single-season record with 74 (1997). Jesse Hubbard holds the career and single-season records for goals scored with 163 (1995â€"98) and 53, respectively (1996). Lowe also holds the career assists record with 174, while Ryan Boyle (2003) tied Hess (1997) for the single-season record with 48. Scott Bacigalupo holds the career saves record with 732 (1991â€"94), while William Cronin holds the single-season record with 277 (1973). As of 2007, the only Princeton Tiger to have a 30-goal/30-assist season was David Tickner who graduated in 1977.

Matt Bailer holds the NCAA Division I record for face-off percentage as one of nine players to have won all of his face-offs in a game where he participated in 10 or more (12 face-offs, 4/15/00, vs. Harvard). No other Tigers currently hold records, but Trevor Tierney formerly held the single-season goals against average (2001â€"2006, 5.70) and career goals against average (2001â€"2006, 6.65) NCAA records, while Kevin Gray held the career saves per game record (1977â€"1994, 15.64) and William Cronin held the career saves per game (1974â€"1977, 14.43) record.

Numerous Tiger lacrosse players have been NCAA national statisitcal champions. Ryan Boyle leads the way as a former champion in several statistics: points per game (2003, 4.54), assists per game (2003, 3.77), assists per game (2004, 2.93), assists (2003, 49), assists (2004, 44). Trevor Tierney was twice a national statistical champion: goals against average (2001, 5.70) and save percentage (2001, .671). Additionally, Jon Hess (assists per game, 1998, 2.60), Patrick Cairns (goals against average, 1997, 6.44) and Corey Popham (goals against average, 1999, 7.07) have been national statistical champions.

The team has also led the nation on several occasions, including the following: scoring defense (1997, 6.87; 1998, 7.60; 1999, 7.15; 2001, 5.80; 2007, 6.21), scoring margin (1996, 8.27; 1998, 6.87) and winning percentage (1997, 15â€"0 â€" 1.000, 1998, 14â€"1 â€" .933, 2001, 14â€"1 â€" .933). The Princeton teams of the late 1990s were second only to the Cornell teams of the 1970s in terms of consecutive victories: consecutive victories: (3/16/96-3/7/98, 29, Cornell-42) and consecutive conference victories: (4/29/95-3/30/02, 37, Cornell-39).

In addition to national records, Princeton holds the following Ivy League records based on conference play. Ryan Boyle holds several individual conference records: single-season assists (32, 2003), career assists (86, 2001â€"04) and career points (120, 2001â€"04). The team holds conference records for single-game goals allowed (1, vs Penn, 1970) and single-season goals allowed (12, 1957).


External links

  • Princeton men's lacrosse official website
  • USILA All-American link

Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

0 komentar :

Posting Komentar